Philosophy News - UTM

Out now: the 2016-2017 edition of Philosophy News

Published: October 10, 2017

Posted In: , , , , , , , , ,

Our annual newsletter, Philosophy News (PDF), covers the activities, events, and accomplishments of the Department of Philosophy’s faculty, staff, and students over the most recent academic year. 2016-17 was a busy and fruitful year for our department as the study of philosophy continued to grow in breadth and popularity at the … Read More

UTM Philosophy announces 2016-17 award winners

Published: August 29, 2017

Posted In: , ,

The UTM Department of Philosophy is pleased to announce its 2016-17 award winners. Top-of-the-Class Prizes These prizes are awarded to the two students with the highest final grades in the two sections of PHL105. This year’s recipients are Emma Koenig and Abraham George Mathew. Excellence 200 Prize This prize is … Read More

Dr. Dominic Alford-Duguid winner of 2016 Savan Dissertation Prize

Published: May 2, 2017

Posted In: , , , ,

Winner of the 2016 David Savan Dissertation Prize, for best dissertation defended in the Department of Philosophy, is Dominic Alford-Duguid, for his work “Getting Properties in Mind,” supervised by Imogen Dickie and with external examiner Bill Brewer. The dissertation, writes Alford-Duguid, explores “how perception puts us in a position to think … Read More

In memoriam: Jacqueline Brunning (1982-2016)

Published: October 31, 2016

Posted In: , , ,

On 11 October 2016, the University of Toronto Mississauga lost a treasured friend and member of our family: Professor Jacqueline Brunning of the Department of Philosophy passed away at age 81. Jackie would dislike that I am writing this because she asked that no commemorations be held in her memory. But … Read More

Four Faculty Members Awarded SSHRC Insight Grants

Published: May 3, 2016

Posted In: , , ,

Congratulations to Karolina Hübner, Peter King, Martin Pickavé, and Andrew Sepielli on their success in the past round of the Insight grant competition of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC). The topics of the funded projects range from “Spinoza on Being” (Hübner) and “Moral Uncertainty and … Read More

More Accolades for Diana Raffman

Published: July 28, 2015

Posted In: , ,

Congratulations to Diana Raffman on receiving two major awards. The American Philosophical Association (APA) has just announced that her recent book Unruly Words (OUP, 2014) is the winner of the 2015 Sanders Book Prize. The Sanders book prize is awarded “to the best book in philosophy of mind, metaphysics, or epistemology that … Read More

Sean Smith wins University-wide Teaching Excellence Prize

Published: May 7, 2015

Posted In: , , , , ,

Sean Smith has been awarded the 2014-15 TATP Teaching Excellence Prize for teaching assistants across all divisions of the University of Toronto.  This year, he is the only winner from the Humanities and Social Sciences, recognized in particular for his work in the department’s second year Introduction to Continental Philosophy … Read More

Mark Schranz wins 2013 TATP Excellence Award

Published: June 23, 2013

Posted In: , ,

Congratulations to Mark Schranz!! Mark is one of four (4) University of Toronto graduate students to have been awarded the 2013 TATP Teaching Excellence Award;  Mark was selected out of a field of 182 teaching assistants, through 462 student and 62 faculty nominations. Recipients of this award will receive a … Read More

Mohan Matthen elected to Royal Society of Canada

Published: November 27, 2012

Posted In: , , ,

Congratulations to our colleague Mohan Matthen on his election to the Royal Society of Canada!! The citation reads: “Mohan Matthen has contributed importantly to three philosophical sub disciplines. He showed how Greek ontology was shaped by the syntax of the Greek verb “to be”, and how Greek cosmology treats the … Read More