UTM Department Awards

Annual Awards of the UTM Department of Philosophy

Top-of-the-Class Prizes, awarded to the students with the highest final grades in their respective sections of PHL101H5/PHL102H5/PHL105Y5
Excellence 200 Prize, for outstanding performance in a second year Philosophy course  
Excellence 300 Prize
, for outstanding performance in a third year Philosophy course

The Gombay Prize
Awarded to a graduating major or specialist, for academic achievement in Philosophy and contribution to the intellectual life of the UTM Philosophy Department.  This prize is awarded in honour and memory of Prof. Andre Gombay’s long connection and great contribution to Philosophy at UTM.

The Erindale Prize
Awarded to a graduating major or specialist for exceptional academic achievement.

The Jacqueline Brunning Award
Awarded to a UTM student in the final year of study, for outstanding performance as a Philosophy specialist or major.  This award is made possible by the Jacqueline Brunning Award Fund in commemoration of the profound impact of Prof. Brunning’s 36-year career of teaching and scholarship at UTM.

(For the list of 2016-17 award winners, click here.)