Jennifer Nagel and Denis Walsh appointed part of Schwartz Reisman Institute’s inaugural Research Leadership Team

Published: March 23, 2020

Posted In: , , , ,

We are proud to announce that two members of our department, Jennifer Nagel and Denis Walsh, have been appointed part of the inaugural Research Leadership Team of the Schwartz Reisman Institute for Technology and Society, established in 2019. The Institute, under the leadership of Gillian Hadfield, brings together leading scholars to better understand the benefits and challenges that artificial intelligence (AI), biotechnology, and other technological advances present for our economy, society, and day-to-day lives.

Professors Nagel and Walsh join five other world-renowned scholars to form the Institute’s core intellectual leadership. They will collaboratively develop an ambitious research agenda that spans research in artificial intelligence and computer science, the social sciences, and the humanities.

This research will help ensure that the world has the new technical, regulatory, and governance tools it needs to ensure that artificial intelligence and related digital technologies are developed and deployed in ways that are responsible and inclusive, advancing the well-being of all members of human communities around the globe. The Schwartz Reisman Institute places a particular focus on developing actionable solutions that bring together academic research, government, as well as for-profit and non-profit organizations.

The other members of the Research Leadership Team are Lisa Austin (Law), David Lie (Electrical and Computer Engineering), Peter Loewen (Political Science, Global Affairs, and Public Policy), Sheila McIlraith (Computer Science), and Wendy Wong (Political Science).

Congratulations to Dr. Nagel and Dr. Walsh on this important appointment, which speaks to the excellence and prescience of their work.