Nick Stang Awarded Second Term as Canada Research Chair

Published: June 15, 2021

Posted In: , , ,

Congratulations to Professor Nick Stang on his second term as a Canada Research Chair (CRC) in Metaphysics and Its History. In his ongoing project, Stang intends to broaden the scope of his work on Immanuel Kant and metaphysics from his first CRC term, which commenced in 2015. While his recent research brought Kant into dialogue with contemporary metaphysics in two areas, modality and ontology, Stang’s current efforts will seek to interrogate Kant’s critique of the possibility of metaphysics itself. This work will expand the longstanding debate around the essence of metaphysics, the area of philosophy that explores foundational questions about the nature of reality. In particular, Stang will draw on post-Kantian ideas, especially those advanced by G. W. F. Hegel, to help resolve the controversy. His current project can be divided into four stages:

  1. an articulation of Kant’s critique and an explanation of its relevance to contemporary metaphysics;
  2. an application of this critique to contemporary meta-metaphysics;
  3. an assessment of whether the Kantian “transcendental idealist” explanation of the possibility of metaphysics can succeed in the contemporary context;
  4. the development and assessment of a new position in meta-metaphysics that draws on post-Kantian idealism to answer the Kantian critique of traditional and contemporary metaphysics.

The Canada Research Chairs program is an initiative of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). It is the centrepiece of the federal government’s national strategy to make the country a global leader in engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences.

Read more about the five researchers from the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Arts & Science, including Stang, who were awarded a Canada Research Chair this year.