Greetings from UTSC Philosophy as we begin the 2016-17 session. We anticipate another great year of philosophy and philosophizing. All our course listings have been updated; students should check them out, especially the specialized D-level courses offered for advanced students this year. The directory has also been updated, with information on recent research activity as well teaching plans for 2016-17.

A number of changes in the department are worth noting.

Two new instructors will join our department for the coming year. They are professors Kenneth Boyd and Jonathan Rick (you can check out what they are teaching on our course listings). Sadly (for us) Anthony Bruno is leaving to take up a postdoctoral fellowship at McGill University.

Congratulations to Karolina Hübner for her ‘upgrade’ to associate professor with tenure. Karolina enjoyed her first sabbatical in 2015-16 and we hope she is ready and eager to rejoin us for 2016-17. Also back from leave are Jessica Wilson and Benj Hellie. We have almost a full complement.

But not quite. Our long standing, hard-working and long suffering chair, Philip Kremer, has finished his term and will enjoy 2016-17 as a leave. In the meantime, William Seager will serve as interim chair (with Sonia Sedivy as associate chair) while a new permanent chair is sought.

The department’s administrative anchor, Jason Ferreira, will maintain his position in our beloved portable. Students are free to drop by the department with questions. Jason can either answer them or will direct you to someone who knows the answer.

Students should also check out our Association of Philosophy Students (APS) which organizes a number of instructive and fun philosophy events throughout the year. We welcome the new APS executive for 2016-17:

  • President: Vivian Du
  • VP External: Migel Maltoo
  • VP Academics: Kristina Dukoski
  • VP Events: Hadia Khan
  • VP Operations: Michelle Tobiash

We look forward to welcoming new philosophy students and welcoming back returning students.

The Department of Philosophy acknowledges the land on which the University of Toronto operates. For thousands of years it has been the traditional land of the Huron-Wendat, the Seneca, and most recently, the Mississaugas of the Credit River. Today, this meeting place is still the home to many Indigenous people from across Turtle Island and we are grateful to have the opportunity to work here.