Philosophy News

Alexandra Gustafson Honoured with 2022 Martha Lile Love Teaching Award

Published: December 2, 2022

Posted In: , ,

The department is delighted to announce the recipient of the 2022 Martha Lile Love Teaching Award: Alexandra Gustafson received the honour for her outstanding work teaching PHL388 – Literature and Philosophy. The committee was impressed with her course’s design, timely theme, approach to accessibility, and innovative lecture format. Alexandra joins a long list of award winners since … Read More

Our Latest PhDs


Posted In: , ,

Congratulations to the three latest PhDs to emerge from our program: John Bunke already successfully defended his dissertation in late September. Written under the supervision of Gurpreet Rattan, it was titled “Metaphysics in Context.” More recently, Jack Beaulieu passed his thesis defense with flying colours on November 29, 2022. He … Read More

St. George Undergraduate Awards 2022

Published: November 22, 2022

Posted In: , ,

November 17, 2022, marked not only the day of our much-applauded UNESCO World Philosophy Day Lecture with Agnes Callard (Chicago) but also the moment at which we announced the St. George undergraduate award winners for 2022. Congratulations to all successful candidates! Justin Gharibo, Scotia Capital Markets Bursary in Philosophy Aman … Read More

Canada Graduate and SSHRC Doctoral Awards

Published: November 21, 2022

Posted In: , ,

Congratulations to the master’s and doctoral students in the Department of Philosophy who recently received Canada Graduate Scholarships and SSHRC (Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada) Doctoral Fellowships. Our award winners are: SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship—Andriy Bilenkyy CGS-D—Michael Law-Smith CGS-M—Marley Greenberg, Ariel LaFayette, Marybel Menzies, Aidan Perreault, Zachary Schauer, … Read More

CNRS—U of T Twin Research Scholars Award for Michael Miller and IHPST/Paris Colleague Vincent Ardourel

Published: November 17, 2022

Posted In: , ,

Congratulations to the department’s Michael Miller and his colleague Vincent Ardourel (Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology/Université de Paris 1) for receiving a 2022 CNRS—U of T Twin Research Scholars Award for their project titled “New Directions in Philosophy of Physics: Approximation, Precision, and Discreteness.” The … Read More

The Thing with Feathers: Donald Ainslie Goes Penguin in Support of UNICEF

Published: October 27, 2022

Posted In: , ,

This morning, students enrolled in PHL100Y—Introduction to Philosophy (Historical) had a surprise waiting for them: their instructor, Professor Donald Ainslie, a Hume expert and the former principal of University College, showed up to class in a full-length penguin costume. Eliciting giggles and many a cell-phone photograph, Ainslie’s plumed suit also … Read More

In memoriam Barry F. Brown, 1934-2022

Published: October 3, 2022

Posted In: , ,

The Department of Philosophy mourns Professor Emeritus Barry F. Brown, a cherished colleague, teacher, and long-time member and supporter of St. Michael’s College at the University of Toronto. Brown, who was born in small-town Manitoba in 1934 and raised in Vancouver, B.C., first joined U of T as a master’s … Read More

Christian Pfeiffer Promoted to Associate Professor

Published: September 19, 2022

Posted In: , , ,

We are pleased to announce that Christian Pfeiffer was awarded tenure and promoted to the rank of associate professor, as of July 1, 2022. Pfeiffer specializes in ancient philosophy, in particular, in Aristotle’s theoretical philosophy. His 2018 book Aristotle’s Theory of Bodies (OUP) offers a ground-breaking study of Aristotle’s conception of … Read More

New Faculty Faces

Published: September 14, 2022

Posted In: , , , , , ,

With the beginning of the Fall 2022 term, the department is pleased to welcome new faculty members on all three campuses. At St. George, we extend a warm welcome to Sara Aronowitz, an assistant professor working on the study of memory, learning, and imagination. Reza Hadisi, also an assistant professor … Read More