Philosophy News - Awards and Honours

William E. Seager Elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada

Published: September 8, 2023

Posted In: , , , ,

Immense congratulations to Professor Emeritus William E. Seager for his recent appointment as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada—a prestigious distinction reserved for the country’s most distinguished scholars, artists, and scientists. The RSC’s website describes Seager as “one of the world’s leading philosophers of mind” whose original and … Read More

2023 Graduate Student Service Award Winners

Published: May 8, 2023

Posted In: , ,

A great graduate department rests on more pillars than student excellence and a well-functioning administration. At least as important is a sense of thriving and supportive community—and while department leadership and staff certainly play a role in helping create such community, much of that work, often not or under-recognized, depends … Read More

Laurance S. Rockefeller Visiting Faculty Fellowship for Andrew Sepielli

Published: April 11, 2023

Posted In: , , ,

Congratulations to Andrew Sepielli, an associate professor on the UTM campus and in the Graduate Department at St. George, who has received a Laurance S. Rockefeller Visiting Faculty Fellowship for the academic year 2023-24. Each year, Princeton University’s Center for Human Values awards fellows the opportunity to devote an academic … Read More

FAS Superior Graduate Student Course Instructor Teaching Award for Alexandra Gustafson

Published: March 31, 2023

Posted In: , ,

Alexandra Gustafson has added another feather to her awards and recognition cap: the Philosophy PhD candidate, researcher of love, popular teacher, and mental health advocate has received a Superior Graduate Student Course Instructor Teaching Award for 2022–2023 from the Faculty of Arts & Science. Nominations are received from across the … Read More

Congratulations to Lu-Vada Dunford, Our Latest PhD

Published: March 30, 2023

Posted In: , ,

Heartfelt congratulations to Lu-Vada Dunford, the latest PhD to emerge from our department. The award-winning teacher and popular Ethics Bowl judge who already holds a position in the Philosophy Department at St. Francis Xavier University of Antigonish, Nova Scotia, today passed her doctoral defense with flying colours. Her dissertation titled … Read More

2022 Prize-Winning CPA Essays

Published: February 13, 2023

Posted In: , , , ,

We are delighted to see included in the latest issue of Dialogue (61.3), a special issue on the Prizes of the Canadian Philosophical Association, three names associated with our program. Caitlin Hamblin-Yule, one of our current PhD students, won a prestigious Congress Graduate Merit Award (CGMA) for her essay “The Gallows … Read More

Arthur Ripstein Honoured with Journal of the History of Philosophy Prize

Published: January 4, 2023

Posted In:

Arthur Ripstein, a University Professor in Department of Philosophy and the Faculty of Law and, has been awarded the 2022 Journal of the History of Philosophy Prize, which celebrates philosophical and scholarly achievement. The prize is awarded to a book published in the previous year (according to the copyright date) that deserves special recognition … Read More

Two New Philosophy PhDs

Published: January 3, 2023

Posted In: , ,

We are delighted to announce that two more of our PhD students, Lisa Doerksen and Michaela Manson, have successfully defended their dissertations and thereby concluded their graduate studies. Lisa wrote her thesis, titled “Finding Oneself in the World,” under the supervision of Gurpreet Rattan. Michaela, writing under the guidance of … Read More

Curiosity, Creativity, Collaboration: In Conversation with Alexandra Gustafson

Published: December 19, 2022

Posted In: , ,

In 2022, the Martha Lile Love Teaching Award went to Alexandra Gustafson for her outstanding work teaching PHL388 – Literature and Philosophy. The committee singled out for praise her course’s design, timely theme, approach to accessibility, and innovative lecture format. Besides being a committed teacher, Gustafson, a published scholar of the philosophy of … Read More

Spencer Albert Wins the 2022 Martha Lile Love Essay Award

Published: December 15, 2022

Posted In:

It is our pleasure to announce Spencer Albert as the winner of this year’s Martha Lile Love Essay Award. The prize committee described his essay, “How Commodity Fetishism Undermines Desert-Based Arguments against Redistribution and Reparations,” in the following manner: “Spencer argues that a significant barrier to shifting public opinion on … Read More