Philosophy News - Awards and Honours

From the Aristotle Contest to a Master’s Degree in Philosophy

Published: July 15, 2024

Posted In: , , ,

Each year, the University of Toronto (in collaboration with the Ontario Philosophy Teachers’ Association) administers the Aristotle Contest, which recognizes the best philosophical essays by current Canadian high school students. Entrants choose their subject from one of three different prompts relating to contemporary issues in philosophy. The winner receives a … Read More

Recent Dissertation Defenses

Published: June 18, 2024

Posted In: , ,

The Philosophy Department is proud to add two new PhDs to its roster. On June 4, Alice Chao-Wei Huang defended a thesis titled “Diversity in the Time of Data,” supervised by Jonathan Weisberg. Eric Shoemaker also passed his doctoral defense for “The Rule of Ordinary People: The Case for a Sortition-Based … Read More

Faculty Promotions

Published: June 5, 2024

Posted In: , , ,

The Department of Philosophy extends its warmest congratulations to faculty members Avia Pasternak and Nick Stang for their promotion to the rank of professor. A member of the Graduate Department of Philosophy at St. George, Pasternak also teaches at the University of Toronto Scarborough campus. Her research centers around questions … Read More

NSERC for Ingrid Stefanovic


Posted In: , ,

Professor Emerita Ingrid Stefanovic recently received an NSERC Alliance grant for her work looking at the problem of reducing greenhouse gases (GHGs), as part of a team headed by Ali Bayat at the University of Alberta. Canadians rely daily on underground infrastructure delivery services and utilities: water and wastewater, energy, … Read More

New Philosophy PhDs

Published: May 14, 2024

Posted In: , ,

Congratulations to our most recently minted PhDs! In April, Michael Kirley successfully defended “The Cognitive Conception of Intentional Action,” written under the supervision of Sergio Tenenbaum and Philip Clark. In the first half of May, his success was followed by that of Henry Krahn and Felix Lambrecht. Krahn brought to … Read More

Honorary Degree for Rebecca Comay

Published: January 5, 2024

Posted In: , ,

Congratulations to Rebecca Comay, a professor of Philosophy and Comparative Literature, who was awarded an honorary doctorate from the University of Copenhagen on recommendation of its Faculty of Theology. Her citation described Comay as “an internationally renowned scholar who for more than three decades has made significant contributions to research … Read More