UTM Philosophy announces 2018-19 award winners

Published: August 29, 2017

Posted In: , ,

The UTM Department of Philosophy is pleased to announce its 2018-19 award winners.

Top-of-the-Class Prizes, awarded to the students with the highest final grades in the four sections of PHL103 and PHL113.   The 2018-19 winners are Alexander de Guzman, Anisha Hundal, Jeremy Baziw,
Breanna Ashkar, and Jehuda Tjahjadi.

Excellence 200 Prize for outstanding performance in a second year philosophy course.
The 2018-19 recipients are Courtney Jones, Onkarpreet Araich, and Shahdah Mahhouk.

Excellence 300 Prize for outstanding performance in a third year philosophy course.
The 2018-19 recipients are Orest Chornomaz, Julia Cusato, and Amar-Kareem Guimba.

Excellence 400 Prize for outstanding performance in a fourth year philosophy course.
The 2018-19 winner is Abraham Mathew.

The Community Enrichment Award for extraordinary contribution to the philosophical community at UTM.  The 2018-19 recipients are Abraham Mathew and Jeffrey Senese.

The Gombay Prize for academic achievement in philosophy and contribution to the intellectual life of the UTM Philosophy Department.  Awarded to a graduating major or specialist in honour and memory of Prof. Andre Gombay’s long connection and great contribution to Philosophy at UTM.  The 2018-19 winners are
Yasmin El Gebali, Christian Longley, and Unnati Patel

The Erindale Prize for exceptional academic achievement by a graduating major or specialist.
The 2018-19 winner is Massimo Terreri.

The Jacqueline Brunning Award for outstanding performance in the final year of study as a specialist or major. This award is made possible by the Jacqueline Brunning Award Fund in commemoration of the profound impact of Prof. Brunning’s 36-year career of teaching and scholarship at UTM.  The 2018-19 recipient is Cindy Do.