UTM Department of Philosophy

Welcome to UTM Philosophy!

Philosophy has been taught at the University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM) from its inception in 1967 (when UTM was known as Erindale College). Until 2003, Erindale College was a constituent college of the University of Toronto Faculty of Arts and Science, and the Erindale Philosophy Group formed a sub-group of the Faculty of Arts and Science (FAS) Department of Philosophy. The University of Toronto Mississauga Department of Philosophy came into being in 2003 when the University of Toronto instituted a tri-campus framework in order to accommodate the growing size and stature of its eastern and western campuses (the U of T Scarborough (UTSC) and UTM). Since that time, the UTM Philosophy Department has developed a major reputation of its own.

UTM Philosophy is an undergraduate department and has undergraduate counterparts at the other University of Toronto campuses: FAS Philosophy (housed on the St. George campus), and the newly formed UTSC Department of Philosophy.  The tenured and tenure-stream philosophy faculty of UTM, FAS, and UTSC together constitute the Graduate Department of Philosophy at the University of Toronto. The role of the UTM faculty in the Graduate Department enriches the experience of our undergraduate students, affording them access to one of the largest, most comprehensive, most respected philosophy departments in the world.

The Department of Philosophy acknowledges the land on which the University of Toronto operates. For thousands of years it has been the traditional land of the Huron-Wendat, the Seneca, and most recently, the Mississaugas of the Credit River. Today, this meeting place is still the home to many Indigenous people from across Turtle Island and we are grateful to have the opportunity to work here.